Friday, November 20, 2009

The Call for 2010 International Distance Learning Awards

The United States Distance Learning Association announced this month it is accepting nominations for its 2010 International Distance Learning Awards. The program acknowledges “major accomplishments in distance learning” and “highlights those distance learning instructors, programs and professionals who have achieved and demonstrated extraordinary achievements through the use of online, videoconferencing, and satellite/video delivery technologies globally,” the organization’s announcement stated.

The USDA is a non-profit national organization located in Boston. It was formed in 1987 to promote the development and application of distance learning in pre-k-12 education, higher and continuing education, home schooling as well as business, corporate, military and government.

Its awards are presented annually to recognize four categories of excellence:
1. 21st Century Best Practice Award;
2. Best Practice Awards for Distance Learning Programming;
3. Excellence in Distance Learning Teaching Awards; and
4. Outstanding Leadership by an Individual Award.

The deadline for entries is January 27, 2010. The awards will be presented May 4 at national conference in St. Louis. For information and entry materials see .